← Directory
mcp · Global
foursquare-places-mcp
Official Foursquare Places API v3 — venue search, place details, location context
Claim this listing
Represent foursquare-places-mcp? Send a claim for review so we can discuss listing updates. Claims do not automatically grant ownership or verification.
What's in it
- Data offered docs-verified
- place search filtered by category, features and hours · GeoTagging (exact location pinpointing via Place Snap) · place metadata: photos, reviews, ratings, real-time popularity · global place database of 100 million places across 1500+ categories
- Coverage docs-verified
- Global
- Formats docs-verified
- MCP server (local use only)
- Access docs-verified
- Foursquare Service API key required; creating a basic developer account is free and includes starter credit. Licence: Other (catalogue metadata).
Useful for
- Use cases llm-inferred
- Site walkover context: map nearby amenities, businesses and venues around a development site for a planning or site appraisal note · Consultation and stakeholder mapping: locate community venues and facilities near a scheme to inform engagement planning · Geotag survey photos or site visit records to the nearest named place for field note metadata
- Audience llm-inferred
- GIS analysts · planners · environmental consultants · developers building location-aware AI agents
Limitations
- Constraints llm-inferred
- Catalogue auth field is null, but the docs require a Foursquare Service API key · Docs describe local use only; remote production MCP servers are not yet available · Only Python server setup is documented (via uv) · Credit-based starter account implies metered use; pricing and rate limits are not stated in the docs · UK-specific coverage is not stated; the data is venue and point-of-interest focused rather than hydrological or environmental · Catalogue tools list is empty and no tool names appear in the docs, so tool-level capabilities are unverified
- Licence
- Other
- Authentication
- Unknown — review source docs
- GitHub stars
- 18
- Last commit
- 29/04/2025
- Last successful page check
- 14/10/2026
- Page health
- healthy
- Package
- Not recorded
- Verification
- Not independently verified
Auto-extracted, unverified fields: tools, auth. Check upstream documentation.
Provenance & evidence
Verified via GitHub API (2026-10-15). Tools/install/auth auto-extracted from README.
Metadata observed 14/10/2026 · research sweep: manual-2026-10-15 (sparkgeo/geo-mcp-servers)