Skip to content
← Directory

data api · Global

General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans

The GEBCO grid is global data set of elevation values, in metres, on a 15 arc-second interval grid. Original source: https://www.gebco.net/data_and_products/gridded_bathymetry_data/

Claim this listing

Represent General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans? Send a claim for review so we can discuss listing updates. Claims do not automatically grant ownership or verification.

Explore paid sponsorship →

What's in it

Data offered docs-verified
global elevation for ocean and land, in metres · under-ice topography/bathymetry version for Greenland and Antarctica
Coverage docs-verified
Global
Resolution docs-verified
15 arc-second grid interval
Formats docs-verified
GeoTIFF (cloud optimised) · STAC item JSON
Access docs-verified
Public; anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop; no API key; licence not stated in docs (see product README and GEBCO terms of use)

Useful for

Use cases llm-inferred
Catchment and site elevation baseline for FRA and drainage strategy assessments where no LiDAR is available · Coastal and offshore bathymetry context for marine or coastal civils scoping · Regional terrain input for flood model boundary and context checks
Audience llm-inferred
flood consultants · drainage engineers · hydrologists · GIS analysts · civils engineers

Limitations

Constraints llm-inferred
15 arc-second grid is coarse (about 460 m at the equator), so unsuitable for detailed local design · Temporal coverage and update frequency are not stated in the docs · Licence is not stated in the docs; check the product README and GEBCO terms of use · Docs mention a Type Identifier (TID) grid, but no TID file is listed in the product files · Full-file downloads are large (about 3 to 4 GB per GeoTIFF)
Licence
see product README
Authentication
Public; anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop
GitHub stars
Unknown
Last commit
Unknown
Last successful page check
14/10/2026
Page health
page reachable
Package
Not recorded
Verification
Not independently verified

Provenance & evidence

Verified via Source Cooperative API /api/v1/products/ausantarctic (public product, updated 2026-05-07).

Metadata observed 14/10/2026 · research sweep: manual-2026-10-15 (source.coop)