data api · United Kingdom · United States
International Precipitation Radar
This contains various sets of precipitation radar estimates from different countries, initially the UK and Finland. The data has been optimized with icechunk. The data stored in each store is limited to what is outputted by the national weather services. In Finland's case, this data contains the hourly 1-hour, 12-hour, and 24-hour precipitation accumulations. For the UK, this contains the composite rain rate radar output. For US MRMS outputs, there is a different collection containing that outpu
Claim this listing
Represent International Precipitation Radar? Send a claim for review so we can discuss listing updates. Claims do not automatically grant ownership or verification.
What's in it
- Data offered docs-verified
- precipitation radar estimates · UK composite rain rate radar output · Finland hourly 1-hour, 12-hour and 24-hour precipitation accumulations
- Coverage docs-verified
- United Kingdom and Finland (initially)
- Resolution docs-verified
- Finland: hourly accumulations (1-hour, 12-hour, 24-hour); spatial resolution and UK temporal resolution not stated
- Formats docs-verified
- Icechunk
- Access docs-verified
- Public, anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop; licence: see product README (not stated in DOCS)
Useful for
- Use cases llm-inferred
- Storm event rainfall time series for surface water flood risk assessments (UK) · Historic radar rainfall inputs for drainage strategy and sewer model calibration (UK) · Rainfall time series for hydrological model calibration and validation (UK)
- Audience llm-inferred
- hydrologists · drainage engineers · flood consultants · GIS analysts
Limitations
- Constraints llm-inferred
- Store contents are limited to what national weather services output; no additional processing is described · Initial coverage is UK and Finland; docs also list Norway, Sweden and other stores, and ENTRY lists United States, but US MRMS is in a separate collection not covered here · Spatial resolution, time span and update cadence are not stated in DOCS · Licence is not stated; refer to the product README · Data is in Icechunk format, so it requires an Icechunk/Zarr-capable client
- Licence
- see product README
- Authentication
- Public; anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop
- GitHub stars
- Unknown
- Last commit
- Unknown
- Last successful page check
- 14/10/2026
- Page health
- page reachable
- Package
- Not recorded
- Verification
- Not independently verified
Provenance & evidence
Verified via Source Cooperative API /api/v1/products/bkr (public product, updated 2025-08-21).
Metadata observed 14/10/2026 · research sweep: manual-2026-10-15 (source.coop)