← Directory
software · Global
FourCastNet (NVlabs)
Initial public release of code, data, and model weights for FourCastNet
Claim this listing
Represent FourCastNet (NVlabs)? Send a claim for review so we can discuss listing updates. Claims do not automatically grant ownership or verification.
What's in it
- Data offered docs-verified
- global 0.25° weather forecasts · surface wind speed forecasts · precipitation forecasts · atmospheric water vapor forecasts · pre-processed ERA5 training data (HDF5) · trained model weights (backbone.ckpt, precip.ckpt) · precomputed normalisation statistics (npy) · precipitation diagnostic model
- Coverage llm-inferred
- Global · ERA5 files 1979–2018 (train 1979–2015, test 2016–2017, out-of-sample 2018)
- Resolution docs-verified
- 0.25° spatial (global); temporal forecast step not stated in DOCS
- Formats docs-verified
- HDF5 · netCDF (ERA5 input) · NPY · CKPT (model weights)
- Access docs-verified
- Open to all via Globus and web download links; the training data needs a Globus account and login. Licence not stated in DOCS.
Useful for
- Use cases llm-inferred
- Precipitation and storm-context screening for drainage or flood risk studies using global ML forecasts as a research benchmark · Benchmarking ML forecast skill (RMSE/ACC) against ERA5 for climate-data QA on a custom interval · Short-range (up to about a week) weather scenario context for construction or site-works planning, with validation before use
- Audience llm-inferred
- flood consultants · hydrologists · drainage engineers · GIS analysts · meteorologists and climate scientists
Limitations
- Constraints llm-inferred
- Research code and weights; initial release v0.0.0 only · Training data is about 5TB and requires a Globus account · Training and pre-processing workflows assume an HPC/Slurm environment and GPU resources · Custom-interval inference needs manual ERA5 download and HDF5 pre-processing · Global 0.25° model; not a local or high-resolution catchment model · Licence not stated in DOCS; check the repository before commercial use
- Licence
- Other
- Authentication
- Unknown — review source docs
- GitHub stars
- 703
- Last commit
- 02/10/2023
- Last successful page check
- 14/10/2026
- Page health
- healthy
- Package
- Not recorded
- Verification
- Not independently verified
Auto-extracted, unverified fields: tools, auth. Check upstream documentation.
Provenance & evidence
Verified via GitHub API (2026-10-15). Tools/install/auth auto-extracted from README.
Metadata observed 14/10/2026 · research sweep: manual-2026-10-15 (Chris sources (NVIDIA Earth-2))