Skip to content
← Directory

data api · Global

Overture Open Buildings

Overture provides several open datasets. This was an experimental re-distribution of their buildings dataset release from mid-2023 transformed into with 'Cloud-Native Geospatial' formats (PMTiles, GeoParquet). They now release all data in those formats, so please use https://docs.overturemaps.org/release/latest/ to get the data.

Claim this listing

Represent Overture Open Buildings? Send a claim for review so we can discuss listing updates. Claims do not automatically grant ownership or verification.

Explore paid sponsorship →

What's in it

Data offered docs-verified
building footprints (vector, GeoParquet) · Overture Places (POIs, GeoParquet) · buildings PMTiles (overture-buildings.pmtiles) · DuckDB database of the refined data
Coverage docs-verified
Global (catalogue regions); data repartitioned by country · Snapshot of the mid-2023 buildings release
Formats docs-verified
GeoParquet · PMTiles · DuckDB
Access docs-verified
Public access; licence not stated in DOCS (ENTRY says see product README)

Useful for

Use cases llm-inferred
Building footprint counts and built-up area for FRA flood exposure screening · Impervious area estimation from building footprints for drainage strategy inputs · POI and building context mapping for planning and site constraint reports
Audience llm-inferred
GIS analysts · flood consultants · drainage engineers · planners

Limitations

Constraints docs-verified
Experimental re-distribution; DOCS say it is currently just a set of experiments · Superseded: Overture now releases all data in these formats, so use the Overture latest release docs instead · Based on the mid-2023 release, so it is a dated snapshot · geoparquet-country-quad-2 is incomplete and DOCS advise ignoring it · Buildings PMTiles is 89.5 GB; the Places PMTiles is not hosted here · Licence not stated in DOCS text
Licence
see product README
Authentication
Public; anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop
GitHub stars
Unknown
Last commit
Unknown
Last successful page check
14/10/2026
Page health
page reachable
Package
Not recorded
Verification
Not independently verified

Provenance & evidence

Verified via Source Cooperative API /api/v1/products/cholmes (public product, updated 2025-08-21).

Metadata observed 14/10/2026 · research sweep: manual-2026-10-15 (source.coop)