UK planning and development data sources compared
England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have separate planning systems, policy and application portals: confirm which applies to the site. planning.data.gov.uk compiles England-only data from local planning authorities; coverage varies by dataset and authority and is incomplete. Check whether the authority supplied the dataset and its date before relying on absent records. Application fields and histories vary by authority and aggregator; confirm decisions and conditions on the authority record. Designations involve different bodies: Historic England maintains the National Heritage List for England; Cadw, Historic Environment Scotland and DfC Historic Environment Division cover Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland respectively. Mapped boundaries are screening evidence; check authority records and designation documents. HM Land Registry INSPIRE Index Polygons show indicative positions of registered freehold titles in England and Wales, not legal boundaries. Registers and title plans are separate services, generally paid per document. CCOD/OCOD cover company-owned titles only. Registers of Scotland and Land & Property Services (NI) run separate registers. Check reuse terms: planning.data.gov.uk and much public open data use the Open Government Licence; INSPIRE polygons have separate conditions. Commercial planning, land and construction-project services may require registration or a paid subscription.
Showing 9 of 9 matching sources from the build-time catalogue snapshot, capped at 40. Half the places are reserved for each publisher group; unused places go to the other group. Each section is ordered by the existing evidence score and catalogue tie-breaks. Sponsored listings and placeholders are excluded. Bulk imports are excluded. Scores describe catalogue evidence, not fitness for a particular site.
Selection requires recorded UK coverage or coverage of a UK nation; global coverage alone is not treated as confirmation. Check each listing’s evidence and upstream terms: enrichment may be inferred, and Unknown means the catalogue has no clear value. Wrappers provide access to upstream data, not an independent survey or monitoring network.
Connect to TerraMCP to use sources marked live via the router. Availability here records an implemented adapter, not a live service-health check.
Lesser-known sources
Independent and other sources not classified as government or regulator publishers. “Lesser-known” is a discovery grouping, not a measure of popularity.
| Source | What it gives | Coverage & cadence | Access / API / format | Licence / commercial use | Live via TerraMCP router | Evidence score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| agentic-house-search-data-registry mcp | Census 2021 demographics; street-level crime and outcomes; English IMD 2019 deprivation; HM Land Registry price paid and property prices; council tax bands; planning applications and planning constraints; BGS GeoSure ground risk and radon; coal mining reporting areas; strategic noise mapping (Round 4, 2022); NaPTAN transport access nodes; TfL transport data (London); Ofcom fibre and mobile coverage (pre-joined packs); DfE school register (pre-joined packs) Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: UK postcodes; per-dataset coverage varies (e.g. street crime excludes Scotland) Record period: Unknown Cadence: Street-level crime: monthly (per dataset schema example); other datasets vary and are not stated | Access: Free and open; hosted MCP endpoint needs no account or API key, with a courtesy rate limit. Repository licence listed as 'Other'; underlying datasets are mostly Open Government Licence v3, some with commercial or non-commercial limits. Authentication: No API key required (repository README, auto-extracted; check upstream requirements) Formats: MCP stdio; MCP streamable HTTP | Licence: Other Commercial use: Unknown | No | 50.9/100 |
| uk-planning-skills skill | planning application document retrieval from council public portals; material-consideration triage of applications; draft representations on ecology, transport, heritage, flood-risk and noise; policy compliance assessment against the adopted development plan; committee pack review and planning report critique Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: England Record period: NPPF 17 August 2026 edition (current); December 2024 edition as a frozen snapshot for earlier decisions Cadence: Unknown | Access: Free and open under MIT licence (per entry metadata); no authentication listed; reads public council planning portals Authentication: Unknown Formats: Markdown (SKILL.md, README.md, supporting reference files) | Licence: MIT Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 47.9/100 |
| uk-land-registry-mcp mcp | sold prices (Price Paid Data, England and Wales); UK House Price Index; corporate property ownership (CCOD); overseas property ownership (OCOD); INSPIRE title boundary polygons; registered leases; restrictive covenant indicators; due-diligence flags; postcode lookup (coordinates, district, ward, region) Resolution: sale-level records for prices; parcel-level INSPIRE title polygons that are indicative only | Coverage: England and Wales Record period: sold prices since 1995; time span not stated for HPI, ownership or boundary data Cadence: bulk datasets (ownership, boundaries, leases, covenants) are monthly snapshots; live tools query public endpoints directly | Access: Free and MIT-licensed server. Live tools (Price Paid, HPI, postcode lookup) need no key. Ownership, boundary and due-diligence tools need a free HM Land Registry API key (HMLR_API_KEY) and acceptance of the licence for each dataset. Authentication: API key via env: HMLR_API_KEY (auto-extracted from README) Formats: MCP stdio | Licence: MIT Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 42.5/100 |
| uk-open-data-connectors mcp | Environment Agency flood-monitoring station metadata, with river and catchment; Recent water levels for one station, newest first; ONS dataset catalogue; FSA food hygiene registers, with establishment counts; TfL Santander Cycles docking stations, with docking points and docked bikes; Planning Data platform datasets and their published records; Natural England ancient woodland polygons (England), counted by type and size; Bank of England Bank Rate, daily; police.uk recorded street-level crime within a mile of a point, by crime type and outcome; National Energy System Operator half-hourly carbon intensity (Great Britain); UK Parliament seats by party in the House of Commons; postcodes.io postcode lookup (country, region, wards, coordinates); Department for Education statistics releases; London Datastore dataset catalogue; National Archives Discovery catalogue search; UKHSA data dashboard metric points (e.g. new HIV diagnoses in England); ONS Nomis SDMX dataset definitions and maintenance status; Fingertips public health indicator metadata (OHID); Cabinet Office Find a Tender procurement notices (OCDS 1.1); Live status of every London Underground line; Public Health Scotland open data catalogue; NHS Business Services Authority open data catalogue Resolution: Daily for Bank Rate (one reading per business day); half-hourly for carbon intensity (Great Britain); street-level for police crime (within a mile of a point); not stated for other connectors | Coverage: United Kingdom, varying by connector: ancient-woodland is England only; police-crimes covers England, Wales and Northern Ireland (not Scotland); carbon-intensity is Great Britain Record period: police-crimes: last 36 months; bank-rate: since 1975; carbon-intensity: 30 complete days per call; other connectors not stated Cadence: Unknown | Access: Free and keyless: no API key is needed for any connector. TfL asks for an app key above the free rate limit (optional apiKey in the adapter). Repo licence MIT (entry metadata); underlying data mostly under OGL v3, with TfL Open Data, CC BY 4.0 (carbon intensity) and OPL v3 (parliament seats) Authentication: No API key required (repository README, auto-extracted; check upstream requirements) Formats: JSON | Licence: MIT Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 39.4/100 |
| Landmark Envirocheck dataset | Contaminated land desk study (Envirocheck Report): sources, pathways and receptors; Historical maps (1840s to present); Historical Data Report: contaminative industrial uses, infilled land, historical tanks and energy facilities; UXO threat assessment (40+ datasets); Site location plans (Ordnance Survey mapping); Flood screening; Flood data; Geology maps; Mining and ground stability (BGS-produced data); Coal mining: seam depth, mine gas, mine water, subsidence; Utilities (PAS 128 Survey Category Type D); Digital Surface Model and Digital Terrain Model; Current and historical aerial photography; Environmental constraints; Administrative boundaries; Height data contours; Green Belt constraints; Land use constraints; Local development plans; Planning applications; Points of interest; Code-Point with Polygons Resolution: site | Coverage: England, Wales and Scotland (historical maps); Great Britain (height contours); England, Scotland and Wales (coal reports); Northern Ireland not stated Record period: 1840s to present (historical maps) Cadence: Unknown | Access: Subscription or per-report purchase; commercial licence; login or registration required Authentication: subscription / per-report purchase Formats: SHP; KML; DWG; DXF; layered PDF; GIS format (ECGIS) | Licence: Commercial Commercial use: Unknown | No | 37.9/100 |
| PLOTT mcp | Plott MCP is a remote Model Context Protocol server for UK construction, property and planning teams. After OAuth, compatible clients can search live planning applications, inspect nearby context, and use the same workspace tools as the Plott app: pipeline, saved searches, letters and human-approved outreach. It is not a council portal and does not file applications. Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: Unknown Authentication: Unknown Formats: Unknown | Licence: Unknown Commercial use: Unknown | No | 19/100 |
Known sources: Government and regulators
| Source | What it gives | Coverage & cadence | Access / API / format | Licence / commercial use | Live via TerraMCP router | Evidence score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| planning.data.gov.uk data api | planning and housing datasets (over 100); conservation areas; listed buildings (with listed_building_grade); brownfield land; planning applications (spec in development); flood risk zones; Article 4 directions; green belt; scheduled monuments; SSSI; ancient woodland; heritage at risk; AONB; tree preservation zones; local planning authority boundaries Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: England Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: No authentication (auth: none); licence OGL-3.0 per catalogue metadata Authentication: none Formats: JSON; GeoJSON; CSV; Parquet; WKT (geometry fields) | Licence: OGL-3.0 Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | Yes Tools: planning_entities | 70.6/100 |
| Historic England NHLE open data data api | listed buildings Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: England Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: free/open, no auth; licence OGL-3.0 Authentication: none Formats: Unknown | Licence: OGL-3.0 Commercial use: Unknown | No | 67.3/100 |
| planning.data.gov.uk data api | planning and housing datasets with geographic location data Resolution: vector | Coverage: England Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: Free under OGL licence per catalogue metadata; bulk download and Planning Data API Authentication: Unknown Formats: JSON; GeoJSON; CSV | Licence: free (OGL) Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 41.4/100 |
Reach practitioners comparing these sources
6 of the 9 matching sources here are from independent or other non-government publishers.
Founding Featured offers Sponsored placement. £49.50/mo excl. VAT for 6 months (usually £99/mo), for the first 5 sponsors.
Choose one category: Planning. Placements are always labelled Sponsored. At most three Sponsored slots per category. Payment never changes quality scores or organic ranking. Comparison tables stay editorial and exclude sponsored listings.
Apply for a founding Featured placementTerraMCP is a Wrench AI service