UK address, property and boundary data sources compared
Start with a confirmed site boundary and location before joining address and property records. OS Open UPRN supplies identifiers and coordinates without address text; check full address products separately. Postcode lookups and centroids are approximate for site location: a postcode can cover several properties and change over time. The ONS Postcode Directory links postcodes to administrative and statutory geographies. Check boundary dates and resolution before testing a site against administrative polygons; generalised boundaries can change the apparent relationship at an edge. Keep administrative boundaries separate from registered titles and building footprints. Price Paid Data covers England and Wales; CCOD covers titles owned by UK corporate bodies and OCOD by overseas companies, in England and Wales only. Scotland and Northern Ireland have separate land registration systems. Check geographic coverage, record dates, licence and commercial-use terms for every source, including EPC records and premium building products.
Showing 19 of 19 matching sources from the build-time catalogue snapshot, capped at 40. Half the places are reserved for each publisher group; unused places go to the other group. Each section is ordered by the existing evidence score and catalogue tie-breaks. Sponsored listings and placeholders are excluded. Bulk imports are excluded. Scores describe catalogue evidence, not fitness for a particular site.
Selection requires recorded UK coverage or coverage of a UK nation; global coverage alone is not treated as confirmation. Check each listing’s evidence and upstream terms: enrichment may be inferred, and Unknown means the catalogue has no clear value. Wrappers provide access to upstream data, not an independent survey or monitoring network.
Connect to TerraMCP to use sources marked live via the router. Availability here records an implemented adapter, not a live service-health check.
Lesser-known sources
Independent and other sources not classified as government or regulator publishers. “Lesser-known” is a discovery grouping, not a measure of popularity.
| Source | What it gives | Coverage & cadence | Access / API / format | Licence / commercial use | Live via TerraMCP router | Evidence score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| postcodes.io data api | postcode validation; nearest postcodes lookup; outward code lookup; bulk reverse geocoding (lat/long to nearest postcode area); postcode autocomplete; region, boundary and administrative details per postcode; geospatial information per postcode Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: Unknown Cadence: Updated when new Ordnance Survey and ONS data becomes available; no fixed schedule stated | Access: Free and open source, MIT licensed; no authentication. Data licence listed as MIT / OGL in catalogue metadata (not stated in DOCS) Authentication: none Formats: Unknown | Licence: MIT / OGL data Commercial use: Unknown | No | 68.2/100 |
| agentic-house-search-data-registry mcp | Census 2021 demographics; street-level crime and outcomes; English IMD 2019 deprivation; HM Land Registry price paid and property prices; council tax bands; planning applications and planning constraints; BGS GeoSure ground risk and radon; coal mining reporting areas; strategic noise mapping (Round 4, 2022); NaPTAN transport access nodes; TfL transport data (London); Ofcom fibre and mobile coverage (pre-joined packs); DfE school register (pre-joined packs) Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: UK postcodes; per-dataset coverage varies (e.g. street crime excludes Scotland) Record period: Unknown Cadence: Street-level crime: monthly (per dataset schema example); other datasets vary and are not stated | Access: Free and open; hosted MCP endpoint needs no account or API key, with a courtesy rate limit. Repository licence listed as 'Other'; underlying datasets are mostly Open Government Licence v3, some with commercial or non-commercial limits. Authentication: No API key required (repository README, auto-extracted; check upstream requirements) Formats: MCP stdio; MCP streamable HTTP | Licence: Other Commercial use: Unknown | No | 50.9/100 |
| uk-land-registry-mcp mcp | sold prices (Price Paid Data, England and Wales); UK House Price Index; corporate property ownership (CCOD); overseas property ownership (OCOD); INSPIRE title boundary polygons; registered leases; restrictive covenant indicators; due-diligence flags; postcode lookup (coordinates, district, ward, region) Resolution: sale-level records for prices; parcel-level INSPIRE title polygons that are indicative only | Coverage: England and Wales Record period: sold prices since 1995; time span not stated for HPI, ownership or boundary data Cadence: bulk datasets (ownership, boundaries, leases, covenants) are monthly snapshots; live tools query public endpoints directly | Access: Free and MIT-licensed server. Live tools (Price Paid, HPI, postcode lookup) need no key. Ownership, boundary and due-diligence tools need a free HM Land Registry API key (HMLR_API_KEY) and acceptance of the licence for each dataset. Authentication: API key via env: HMLR_API_KEY (auto-extracted from README) Formats: MCP stdio | Licence: MIT Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 42.5/100 |
| Energy Performance Certificate Ratings (Domestic) - England and Wales data api | current energy rating; potential energy rating; inspection date; UPRN; local authority name and code; property point geometry (lat/lon, WKT) Resolution: Property-level: each record is geocoded to a point via the OS Open UPRN join | Coverage: England and Wales Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: Free, public, anonymous S3 access (no sign-in needed); licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 Authentication: Public; anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop Formats: GeoParquet | Licence: see product README Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 41.3/100 |
| uk-open-data-connectors mcp | Environment Agency flood-monitoring station metadata, with river and catchment; Recent water levels for one station, newest first; ONS dataset catalogue; FSA food hygiene registers, with establishment counts; TfL Santander Cycles docking stations, with docking points and docked bikes; Planning Data platform datasets and their published records; Natural England ancient woodland polygons (England), counted by type and size; Bank of England Bank Rate, daily; police.uk recorded street-level crime within a mile of a point, by crime type and outcome; National Energy System Operator half-hourly carbon intensity (Great Britain); UK Parliament seats by party in the House of Commons; postcodes.io postcode lookup (country, region, wards, coordinates); Department for Education statistics releases; London Datastore dataset catalogue; National Archives Discovery catalogue search; UKHSA data dashboard metric points (e.g. new HIV diagnoses in England); ONS Nomis SDMX dataset definitions and maintenance status; Fingertips public health indicator metadata (OHID); Cabinet Office Find a Tender procurement notices (OCDS 1.1); Live status of every London Underground line; Public Health Scotland open data catalogue; NHS Business Services Authority open data catalogue Resolution: Daily for Bank Rate (one reading per business day); half-hourly for carbon intensity (Great Britain); street-level for police crime (within a mile of a point); not stated for other connectors | Coverage: United Kingdom, varying by connector: ancient-woodland is England only; police-crimes covers England, Wales and Northern Ireland (not Scotland); carbon-intensity is Great Britain Record period: police-crimes: last 36 months; bank-rate: since 1975; carbon-intensity: 30 complete days per call; other connectors not stated Cadence: Unknown | Access: Free and keyless: no API key is needed for any connector. TfL asks for an app key above the free rate limit (optional apiKey in the adapter). Repo licence MIT (entry metadata); underlying data mostly under OGL v3, with TfL Open Data, CC BY 4.0 (carbon intensity) and OPL v3 (parliament seats) Authentication: No API key required (repository README, auto-extracted; check upstream requirements) Formats: JSON | Licence: MIT Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 39.4/100 |
| Landmark Envirocheck dataset | Contaminated land desk study (Envirocheck Report): sources, pathways and receptors; Historical maps (1840s to present); Historical Data Report: contaminative industrial uses, infilled land, historical tanks and energy facilities; UXO threat assessment (40+ datasets); Site location plans (Ordnance Survey mapping); Flood screening; Flood data; Geology maps; Mining and ground stability (BGS-produced data); Coal mining: seam depth, mine gas, mine water, subsidence; Utilities (PAS 128 Survey Category Type D); Digital Surface Model and Digital Terrain Model; Current and historical aerial photography; Environmental constraints; Administrative boundaries; Height data contours; Green Belt constraints; Land use constraints; Local development plans; Planning applications; Points of interest; Code-Point with Polygons Resolution: site | Coverage: England, Wales and Scotland (historical maps); Great Britain (height contours); England, Scotland and Wales (coal reports); Northern Ireland not stated Record period: 1840s to present (historical maps) Cadence: Unknown | Access: Subscription or per-report purchase; commercial licence; login or registration required Authentication: subscription / per-report purchase Formats: SHP; KML; DWG; DXF; layered PDF; GIS format (ECGIS) | Licence: Commercial Commercial use: Unknown | No | 37.9/100 |
Known sources: Government and regulators
| Source | What it gives | Coverage & cadence | Access / API / format | Licence / commercial use | Live via TerraMCP router | Evidence score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OS Data Hub APIs data api | address to UPRN Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: API key required (osdatahub.os.uk); OS licence / OGL for OpenData Authentication: api key (osdatahub.os.uk) Formats: Unknown | Licence: OS licence / OGL for OpenData Commercial use: Unknown | Yes Tools: os_names Keys required; check connection and upstream terms. | 77.3/100 |
| ONS Open Geography Portal data api | LPA boundary Resolution: vector | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: No authentication required (auth: none); licence OGL-3.0 Authentication: none Formats: Unknown | Licence: OGL-3.0 Commercial use: Unknown | No | 75/100 |
| planning.data.gov.uk data api | planning and housing datasets (over 100); conservation areas; listed buildings (with listed_building_grade); brownfield land; planning applications (spec in development); flood risk zones; Article 4 directions; green belt; scheduled monuments; SSSI; ancient woodland; heritage at risk; AONB; tree preservation zones; local planning authority boundaries Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: England Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: No authentication (auth: none); licence OGL-3.0 per catalogue metadata Authentication: none Formats: JSON; GeoJSON; CSV; Parquet; WKT (geometry fields) | Licence: OGL-3.0 Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | Yes Tools: planning_entities | 70.6/100 |
| OS NGD (National Geographic Database) API data api | OS Boundaries (administrative and electoral, England, Wales, Scotland); OS Building Features (heights, lines, access points); OS Land Features (land cover); OS Land Use Features; OS Named Features; OS Routing and Asset Management Information (routable network with hazards, restrictions, speed limits); OS Structure Features (dams, bridges, chimneys and other non-building structures); OS Transport Features; OS Transport Network; OS Water Features (watercourses, lakes, drains, springs); OS Water Network (3D structured link and node network of watercourses); OS GB Address (includes UPRNs); OS GB Postcodes; OS NI Postcodes; OS Functional Areas (retail locations); OS Islands Address Resolution: vector | Coverage: Great Britain Record period: Unknown Cadence: daily | Access: Licensed, not free for general use. Available via the OS Data Hub under the Public Sector Plan (PSGA members and OS Partners) or the Premium Plan, using the existing pricing and licensing frameworks. API key required (per entry metadata; the entry's auth field is null). Authentication: Unknown Formats: GeoJSON | Licence: premium / PSGA free for public sector Commercial use: Unknown | No | 49.2/100 |
| ONS Postcode Directory (August 2025) for the UK (Hosted Table) data api | UK postcode to statutory administrative, electoral and health area geographies; postcode to 2001 Census Output Areas and Super Output Areas (England, Wales, Northern Ireland); postcode to 2001 Census Data Zones (Scotland); postcode to 2021 Census OAs and SOAs (England, Wales, Northern Ireland); postcode to 2022 Census Data Zones and Intermediate Zones (Scotland); current and terminated postcodes Resolution: Postcode-level lookup table (no coordinates or spatial precision stated in docs) | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: as at August 2025 Cadence: Quarterly | Access: Free and open; no authentication (ENTRY auth null); licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 except where otherwise stated, and the product contains Royal Mail, Gridlink, LPS (Northern Ireland), Ordnance Survey and ONS Intellectual Property Rights Authentication: Unknown Formats: CSV; XLSX; GPKG; GEOJSON; KML; Shapefile (ZIP); File Geodatabase (ZIP); SQLite Geodatabase (GDB); ArcGIS GeoService REST API; hosted table (API access) | Licence: Unknown Commercial use: Unknown | No | 43.7/100 |
| OS Open UPRN dataset | UPRN (Unique Property Reference Number) identifiers; UPRN coordinate references for addressable locations Resolution: point (per-location UPRN coordinates) | Coverage: Great Britain Record period: Unknown Cadence: every six weeks | Access: Free to use for everyone; direct download; licence free (OGL) Authentication: Unknown Formats: CSV; GeoPackage | Licence: free (OGL) Commercial use: Unknown | No | 41.2/100 |
| Local Authority Districts (May 2025) Boundaries UK BSC (V2) data api | Local Authority District (LAD) vector boundaries, May 2025 Resolution: Super Generalised (200m) boundaries, clipped to the Mean High Water coastline | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: as at May 2025 Cadence: Unknown | Access: Open download under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (site footer); contains Ordnance Survey and ONS Intellectual Property Rights; no authentication stated Authentication: Unknown Formats: GDB (SQLite Geodatabase); XLSX; GPKG (GeoPackage); TXT (Feature Collection); ZIP (File Geodatabase); KML; GEOJSON; ZIP (Shapefile); ArcGIS GeoService REST API; CSV; HTML (ArcGIS Hub dataset); WFS; ArcGIS MapServer | Licence: Unknown Commercial use: Unknown | No | 40.1/100 |
| OS National Geographic Database - Boundaries Collection in GeoParquet data api | OS National Geographic Database Boundaries data (trial version) Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: Unknown Cadence: None; data will not be maintained (trial version) | Access: Public; anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop; Open Government Licence 3.0 Authentication: Public; anonymous HTTPS/S3 access via data.source.coop Formats: GeoParquet | Licence: see product README Commercial use: Yes (docs-verified) | No | 39.7/100 |
| Local Authority Districts (December 2025) Boundaries UK BFE data api | Local Authority District boundaries (vector polygons, Dec 2025); Full-resolution (BFE) boundaries Resolution: Full resolution (BFE): extent of the realm, usually Mean Low Water mark; some boundaries extend offshore to include islands | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: as at December 2025 Cadence: Unknown | Access: Free/open under Open Government Licence v3.0 (per page footer). Entry licence is 'not stated' and page licence is 'Not set'. Contains Ordnance Survey and ONS IP, so OS-derived reuse terms should be checked. Authentication: Unknown Formats: GeoJSON; GeoPackage (GPKG); SQLite Geodatabase (GDB); File Geodatabase (ZIP); Shapefile (ZIP); KML; CSV; XLSX; ArcGIS REST FeatureServer/MapServer; WFS | Licence: Unknown Commercial use: Unknown | No | 37.9/100 |
| Counties and Unitary Authorities (December 2021) Boundaries EN BFC data api | Counties and Unitary Authorities vector boundaries; Boundaries clipped to the coastline (Mean High Water mark) Resolution: Full resolution, clipped to the coastline (Mean High Water mark) | Coverage: England Record period: Boundaries as at December 2021 (snapshot) Cadence: Unknown | Access: Open Government Licence v3.0 for downloads and listed services; no authentication listed Authentication: Unknown Formats: SQLite Geodatabase (GDB); GeoPackage (GPKG); Excel (XLSX); Feature Collection (TXT); File Geodatabase (ZIP); ArcGIS Hub Dataset (HTML); KML; Shapefile (ZIP); GeoJSON; CSV; ArcGIS MapServer; WFS Server; ArcGIS FeatureServer; ArcGIS GeoService REST API | Licence: Unknown Commercial use: Unknown | No | 37.4/100 |
| OS MasterMap (premium) dataset | buildings; roads; rivers; land use; natural features Resolution: Vector, scale 1:1 250 to 1:10 000 | Coverage: Great Britain Record period: Unknown Cadence: Every six weeks | Access: Paid, licensed download and API (licence PSGA, per entry metadata); free sample data available Authentication: Unknown Formats: GeoPackage; GML; Vector Tiles | Licence: paid / PSGA Commercial use: Unknown | No | 32.9/100 |
| Local Planning Authorities (April 2019) Boundaries UK BFC data api | Local Planning Authority boundaries (vector polygons, full resolution, clipped to Mean High Water coastline) Resolution: Full resolution; clipped to coastline (Mean High Water mark) | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: April 2019 snapshot Cadence: Unknown | Access: Free download; no authentication listed. Licence not stated on the entry and 'Not set' on the dataset page; the page footer says content is under OGL v3.0 except where otherwise stated; contains Ordnance Survey and ONS IPR. Authentication: Unknown Formats: SQLite Geodatabase (GDB); GeoPackage (GPKG); Excel (XLSX); Feature Collection (TXT); File Geodatabase (ZIP); ArcGIS Hub Dataset (HTML); KML; Shapefile (ZIP); GeoJSON; CSV; ArcGIS GeoService (REST API) | Licence: Unknown Commercial use: Unknown | No | 32.2/100 |
| NSPL Online latest Centroids data api | This file contains the digital vector centroids for the National Statistics Postcode Lookup in the UK as at August 2026. The centroids are of every live and terminated postcode in the United Kingdom. Contains both Ordnance Survey and ONS Intellectual Property Rights. REST URL of Feature Access Service – https:// Resolution: Unknown | Coverage: United Kingdom Record period: Unknown Cadence: Unknown | Access: Unknown Authentication: Unknown Formats: Unknown | Licence: Unknown Commercial use: Unknown | No | 26.3/100 |
Reach practitioners comparing these sources
6 of the 19 matching sources here are from independent or other non-government publishers.
Founding Featured offers Sponsored placement. £49.50/mo excl. VAT for 6 months (usually £99/mo), for the first 5 sponsors.
Choose one category: GIS & earth observation, Planning. Placements are always labelled Sponsored. At most three Sponsored slots per category. Payment never changes quality scores or organic ranking. Comparison tables stay editorial and exclude sponsored listings.
Apply for a founding Featured placementTerraMCP is a Wrench AI service